Vultural Studies

5 September 2009

Just a short note to commemorate International Vulture Awareness Day

My mother shot this photo of two California Condors (Gymnogyps californianus) near Big Sur a few weeks ago:

Condor 1

Here is how she described her experience:

Sunday was a real remarkable day. 6 or 7 condors soaring over the cliffs, water and roosting on a luxury home south of Nepenthe.  We also at the same time had a pod of dolphin below us .  It was unreal.  They were so close I couldn’t believe my eyes and almost fell down a cliff I got too close to.  It was a good day.

Wish I had been there!  Go check out more Multi-Vultural Awareness at The Ethical Palaeontologist, Earth Wind and Water, and Swamp Things.

And my own thoughts on this most beautiful bird here.

3 Responses to “Vultural Studies”


  1. I can’t see the picture…?

  2. Neil Says:

    Thanks Callan – my fault for trying to take a short cut. Should be fixed now.

    cheers,
    Neil

  3. Amy Says:

    Wow! I hope to see California Condors some day, and hopefully not fall down a cliff in doing so. 😉


Leave a Reply

