Learning and Labor

30 September 2011

If nothing else comes of all this ruckus, at least it was a good opportunity to sell some L.L. Bean boots, am I right? Sorry, I kid because I care. Well, not that much. But, like everyone else it seems, I did find Tom Clynes’s profile of Felisa Wolfe-Simon just published in Popular Science simultaneously fascinating and icky. Sort of like a mason jar full of anaerobic mud, I guess. Sure the rotten-egg aroma is off-putting but it also hints at something interesting and, dare I say, other-worldly lurking in the muck.

Huh?

David Dobbs and Carl Zimmer have each written thoughtful dissections-cum-rejoinders to the piece. And there is little for me to add. But I did want to call your attention to the timeline that Zimmer presents of the bi-polar responses to #arseniclife that played out in parallel online and in cytoplasm-space:

Notice anything missing there? Here, I fixed it:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Say wha?

3 Responses to “Learning and Labor”

  1. Neil Says:

    Proud to be among the Yeoman on this one

  2. Chelsea Says:

    I mean, this chick is going to keep doing science. She won’t win a Nobel prize, but who does?! She’ll get a job, and she’ll get tenure, and she’ll be a better scientist than she is now. Anna Paquin won an Oscar a long time ago, and now she’s in a vampire show that is totally overrated. I’m totally fine with that. People are gonna find out whether arsenic sustains life whether she keeps researching or not. It’s fine. P.S. I feel like point #1 was one of my governing principles for a while and I think it might be terrible advice. Hi Neil Freeman!!

  3. Neil Says:

    Thanks for the comments fellows. I was originally planning to title this post “First!” but I figured the present title would do a better job of smoking out the Obies.

    Chelsea, I’ll have you know that “this chick” is extremely dismissive language.

    On your other points, I agree entirely.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 406 other followers